Members of the Turbomachinery Committee organized a special technical session during the 2009 ASME Turbo Expo to honor Dr. Leroy H. Smith’s 50+ years of pioneering contributions to fan and compressor aerodynamic theory, research, and design methods. His expertise, connecting a fundamental understanding of physics with practical design methodology, was instrumental in the creation of decades of outstanding civil and military aircraft engines at GE. His profound contributions to the fan and compressor aerodynamics community are evidenced through his award-winning ASME papers and his participation and leadership in the IGTI Turbomachinery Committee. Roy has also been instrumental in educating and mentoring young engineers at GE to be world-class professionals.

Much gratitude is extended to the following persons for organizing this special session: Dr. Chunill Hah, the primary organizer, and Professor Mike Benzakein, Professor Nick Cumpsty, Professor Paul Gostelow, Professor Edward Greitzer, and Mr. Curtis Koch for preparing their papers and presentations for the session. We are very grateful to Sir John Horlock for preparing “Some Introductory Remarks for the Special ASME Session,” which were delivered by Professor Robert Miller. Thanks are also extended to Dr. David Wisler for organizing the publication of the papers and to Dr. Ruben Del Rosario and Dr. James Heidmann of the NASA Glenn Research Center for their encouragement and support of the special session.